I need help with compressed row storage

(Luigi Cimorelli) #1

I need someone to help me with sparsecompressedrowstorage class.

I’m quite new to math.net. I used to write linear system solver on my own. Recently, I’ve decided to use available libraries.

Can someone write an example on how to use the aforementioned class?

Specifically, I would like to write my matrix directly in CRS arrays, without using the original one, but I don’t even know how to use the class.

0 Likes

(Luigi Cimorelli) #2

Is someone interested in this topic? I found this very important because if one is solving a PDE by finite difference or finite element methods a sparse linear system solver is required. Furthermore, it is crucial to work directly with the csr array without allocating the original sparse matrix. Is there a way to achieve that with mathnet?

Please someone help me

0 Likes

(wo80) #3

Just create the sparse matrix and then access the storage:

var A = new SparseMatrix(rows, columns);

var storage = (SparseCompressedRowMatrixStorage<double>)A.Storage;

var ap = storage.RowPointers; // readonly int[] array of size (rows + 1)
var ai = storage.ColumnIndices; // int[] array of size >= non-zeros count
var ax = storage.Values; // double[] array of size >= non-zeros count

Since the storage is not really efficient to modify, you might want to use some sort of coordinate storage when assembling the matrix and then convert to CSR. Take a look at wo80/mathnet-extensions.

If you are looking for direct solvers of sparse linear systems, take a look at wo80/CSparse.NET

0 Likes

(Luigi Cimorelli) #4

I’m sorry I have to Re-Edit again:

Dear Wo80,

It doesn’t work, It just allows you to assign the values to ax,ai, and ap, but the properties are not assigned to A and store. As a result when I try to solve the system it return Not a number in the results vector.