Symbolic Substitution

Hi All,

Is there a way to carryout symbolic substitution over an expression. Something similar to:
a=2; b=1
substitute(a,b,1/(a+b)) to result to 1/(2+1) and not 1/3

Thanks in advance.

(Christoph Rüegg) #2

There is Structure.substitute that can do such substitutions, but there is no way to prevent 1/(2+1) from being auto-symplified to 1/3 (unless maybe declaring them somehow as constants).

Thanks for the quick response!

Is there a way to obtain the symble’s string name after assigning a value to the variable? If there is, then I can replace that symble’s string name with a value. Below is my attempt to explain the above idea (by the way, I am not a programmer, so please bear with my bad coding skills)

Dim a = MathNet.Symbolics.Expression.Symbol("a")
    Dim b = MathNet.Symbolics.Expression.Symbol("b")

Dim c = 1 / (a + b)
    a = 2
    b = 3

Dim str1 As String
    Dim str2 As String
    Dim str3 As String

str1 = Infix.Print(c)

str2 = str1.Replace("a", Infix.Print(a))      **'how can I get "a" from the variable a**
    str2 = str2.Replace("b", Infix.Print(b))       **'how can I get "b" from the variable b**

str3 = str1 + "=" + str2 + "=" + Infix.Print(Infix.ParseOrThrow(str2))

MsgBox(str3)  ' 1/(a + b)=1/(2 + 3)=1/5 **_This is the final results I want_**

(Christoph Rüegg) #4

Instead of

str2 = str1.Replace("a", Infix.Format(a))

you can write

str2 = str1.Replace(NameOf(a), Infix.Format(a))

Is that what you’re looking for?

(Christoph Rüegg) #5

Note that there may be some confusion here about two different contexts that both offer some concept of a “variable” with a name - first that of your programming language (i.e. the a in Dim a = ..) and second the Math.NET Symbolics symbol (i.e. the a in Expression.Symbol("a")). Maybe this is clearer if we write:

Dim aa = MathNet.Symbolics.Expression.Symbol("a")

Such that aa refers to the variable and a to the symbol. Infix.Format(aa) will then return "a".

Whe you then write:

aa = 2