Using ODEsolver to solve drag equation

Hi!

I’m very new to C# and Math.Net programming. I’ve got some experience in other languages, but have mainly used MATLAB in recent years.

I’m trying to create a method that calculates the trajectory of a projectile under the influence of drag and gravity.
In addition the drag coefficient is velocity dependent (simple table lookup).

Let x be the horizontal distance and y be the vertical distance. The initial position, velocity and direction is known.
The forces acting on the projectile is:
F = m*g - rho * v^2 *A * CD/2
where rho is the density of the air, A is the presented area of the projectile and CD is the drag coefficient, all known.

How would I use the ODEsolvers in Math.Net to find y = f(x)?
The documentation is really lacking when it comes to the ODEsolvers…

I assume I need to create a method/function for the equation of motion and pass it to the solver?
How do I do that? Remember I’m really new to C#…

Hope you can help me!

(Peter Vanderwaart) #2

Differential equations are not my strong suit, but let me give it a try. It looks to me like the ODE solvers RungeKutta and AdamsBashforth are meant for functions of a single variable (or state). Your problem has four variables: x-position, y-position, x-velocity, y-velocity. They are not going to do what you need them to do.

Note: you may want to express your velocity vector in polar coordinates rather than (x,y) terms.

(Peter Vanderwaart) #3

Since I’d never used an ODE solver, and since the OP asked for some instruction, I thought I’d experiment. I thought it would be interesting to see how accurately the ODEsolvers would estimate a sine function over a number of cycles.

Program here:

// use ODE solvers to estimate sine function
    // 10 cycles, i.e t from 0 to 20 pi

// starting conditions
    double y0 = 0.0;
    double start = 0.0;  
    double end = 20.0 * Math.PI;
    int N = 150;
    var f1 = new Func<double, double, double>((t, y) => Math.Cos(t));